标记档案: 芭芭拉

芭芭拉史翠珊说这是“不可接受的”’ 女性得不到高质量的心脏保健

芭芭拉史翠珊说女性得不到高质量的心脏保健是“不可接受的”

芭芭拉·史翠珊 重视女性心血管健康.

“心脏病是不. 1 女性杀手,” 这位传奇歌手和女演员说, 谁开始了 女性心脏联盟 与商人 Ron Perelman 在 2014.

“十五年前我读了一个故事 纽约时报 关于心脏健康的性别差异,” 史翠珊说, 79. “我震惊地了解到,死于心血管疾病的女性比死于所有癌症的总和还要多,并且在诊断和治疗方面没有得到与男性相同的关注。”

她致力于推进女性心脏健康研究,这也是她的名字出现在 芭芭拉史翠珊女性心脏中心 在洛杉矶的 Cedars-Sinai 心脏研究所. “对我来说,女性和男性没有被平等对待是毫无意义的,” 她说.

她对预防方面的性别不平等了解得越多 心脏疾病, 她越想赋予和教育女性掌控自己健康的能力. “当女性抱怨可能是心脏问题的症状时,医生通常不屑一顾,” 她说. “这么多年, 心脏病被认为是男人的疾病, 有相似或更独特症状的女性经常被误诊为消化问题或情绪紧张。”

这个月, 史翠珊的女性心脏联盟, 其使命是促进研究中的性别平等, 预防, 意识和治疗, 正在推出一个新的 PSA 针对年轻女性和有色人种女性, 两个特别脆弱的群体.

“年轻女性意识到她们患心脏病的几率越来越高,这一点非常重要,” 史翠珊说. “我希望 PSA 能够敲响警钟并引起人们对女性必须了解这场危机并检查她们的内心的重要性。”

她说困惑源于女性不知道自己性别的心脏病发作症状.

“我们心脏病发作的第一个迹象通常包括恶心, 背痛, 疲劳, 下巴疼痛和呼吸急促, 而不是男性常见的胸部和手臂疼痛的好莱坞版本,” 史翠珊 说.

知道心脏病在很大程度上是可以预防的, 她和同一位教练一起锻炼了超过 30 年,并试图遵循心脏健康的饮食. “我包括蔬菜, 青菜, 大多数膳食中的水果,” 她说. “我喜欢鱼和鸡肉,有时我会用植物性蛋白质代替肉类。”

但, 她是人类: “我喜欢食物,不需要太多东西就可以分散我的好意,” 她开玩笑地说.

最终, 她很感激能够传播意识. 她说,WHA 及其盟友已经为患有心血管疾病的女性获得了更多的研究资金,并为服务不足的女性提供了社区心脏筛查的额外资金。, 农村和低收入社区.

“我希望每个女人都能把自己的心脏健康掌握在自己手中,” 她说. “我知道我知道。”

Barbra」タグアーカイブ

Barbra Streisand Says It’s ‘Unacceptable’ that Women Don’t Receive High-Quality Heart Health Care

Barbra Streisand Says It's 'Unacceptable' that Women Don't Receive High-Quality Heart Health Care

Barbra Streisand takes women’s cardiovascular health to heart.

“Heart disease is the No. 1 killer of women,” says the legendary singer and actress, who started the Women’s Heart Alliance with businessman Ron Perelman in 2014.

“Fifteen years ago I read a story in The New York Times about gender differences in heart health,” says Streisand, 79. “I was shocked to learn that more women are dying from cardiovascular disease than from all cancers combined and aren’t receiving the same attention in diagnosis and treatment as men.”

Her commitment to advancing research for women’s heart health is also why her name appears on the Barbra Streisand Women’s Heart Center at Cedars-Sinai Heart Institute in Los Angeles. “It just never made sense to me that women and men weren’t treated equally,” she says.

And the more she learned about the gender inequalities in preventing heart disease, the more she wanted to empower and educate women to take charge of their health. “Doctors are often dismissive when women complain of what could be symptoms of heart problems,” she says. “For so many years, heart disease was thought of as a man’s disease, and women with similar or more unique symptoms were often misdiagnosed as having digestive problems or being emotionally stressed.”

This month, Streisand’s Women’s Heart Alliance, whose mission is to promote gender equity in research, prevention, awareness and treatment, is launching a new PSA targeted at younger women and women of color, two particularly vulnerable groups.

“It is very important that young women are aware that they are experiencing heart disease at increasing rates,” says Streisand. “It is my hope that the PSA will sound the alarm and bring attention to the importance that women must understand this crisis and get their hearts checked.”

She says confusion stems from women being unaware of their gender’s heart attack symptoms.

“Our first signs of a heart attack often include nausea, backache, fatigue, jaw pain and shortness of breath, rather than the Hollywood version common in men of crushing chest and arm pain,” Streisand says.

Knowing that heart disease is largely preventable, she has been working out with the same trainer for more than 30 years and tries to follow a heart healthy diet. “I include vegetables, greens, and fruit in most meals,” she says. “I like fish and chicken and sometimes I substitute plant-based protein as a meat alternative.”

But, she’s human: “I love food and it does not take a lot to distract me from my good intentions,” she says jokingly.

Ultimately, she is grateful to be able to spread awareness. She says the WHA and its allies have secured more research funding for women with cardiovascular disease as well as additional funds for community heart screenings for women in underserved, rural and low-income communities.

“I hope every woman will take her heart health into her own hands,” she says. “I know I do.”